Shahid Abbasi was elected as Pakistan’s 24th Prime Minister

Pakistan PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi

Pakistan lawmakers nominated a member of Pakistan Muslim League, a businessman and electrical engineer Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as PM. Shahid Abbasi officially claims office from 1st August 2017.

His immediate preceding interim leader of the country after Nawaz Sharif who ruled as dishonesty by Supreme Court over the issue Panama Papers scandal.

Voting Count of Shahid Abbasi

However, Abbasi won after getting 221 votes of total 342 in the house. Naveed Qamar of his contender who belongs to Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) got 47 votes, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed of Tehreek-e-Insaf got 33 votes, Sahibzada Tariqullah of Jamaat-e-Islami party settle with only 4 votes.

In fact, his political career started after the death of his father Khaqan Abbasi in April 1988. Abbasi was born on 27 December 1958 in Karachi, Pakistan. Indeed, he previously served as the Minister of Petroleum and Natural Resources from 2013 to 2017.

Moreover, Abbasi has elected Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan six times from Rawalpindi District. He owns an airline company called Airblue.